l Latest news on Politics, World, Bollywood, Sports, Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Trending news | News Mantra

Uddhav Thackeray wins floor test

Uddhav Thackeray wins floor test

The Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi government won confidence vote with 169 MLAs support but bjp decided to walkout . As many as 169 MLAs of Maha Vikas Agadi today voted in favour of motion of confidence, while zero against, four abstained and 105 BJP MLAs walked out during voting.
BJP leader and former CM Devendra Fadnavis today said that they will submit a letter to Governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari asking him to suspend the proceedings of the House. Pro tem speaker Dilip Walse Patil rejected Fadnavis’ claim of an ‘illegal session’, saying its is being held as per governor’s directions. The Uddhav Thackeray-led government, meanwhile, has cleared the face floor test, despite four MLAs abstaining and BJP legislators walking out of the House.

The BJP also objected to replacing party’s Kalidas Kolambkar as the pro-tem Speaker with NCP’s Dilip Walse Patil, saying such a thing happened for the first time in the history of India as the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance was scared of losing floor test under a regular Speaker.

A special session of the Legislative Assembly was held in Mumbai on Saturday. However, the BJP MLAs walked out of House after Walse Patil ordered head count on motion of confidence.

“Business is being transacted in the House in violation of the Constitution. The session itself is not in line with the rules. Since the national anthem had been played after the last session, it had ended sine die,” said BJP’s legislature unit leader Devendra Fadnavis.

“Summons was required to be issued through Governor to convene a new session. But that was not to be the case,” he alleged.

Fadnavis also charged that the oath-taking ceremony of Thackeray and his six ministers, too, was not in line with the rules.

“Someone took Balasaheb Thackeray’s name, someone took names of (Congress chief) Sonia (Gandhi) ji and (NCP president Sharad) Pawar Saheb’s name. The oath has to be taken as mentioned in the pro forma,” he added.

On the floor test being conducted on the pro tem Speaker’s watch, Fadnavis said it was done so as the government is scared of losing the trust vote under a regular speaker.

“They were afraid that their government will collapse if regular Speaker is there…That is why we staged a walk out. We are going to write to the Governor saying the business was not transacted in line with the Constitution,” he added.

In the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly, the BJP is the single-largest party with 105 MLAs, followed by the Shiv Sena (56 MLAs), the NCP (54 MLAs) and the Congress (44 MLAs).

Related posts





SP supports what is written in the Quran.


Leave a Comment

14 + three =