l Latest news on Politics, World, Bollywood, Sports, Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Trending news | News Mantra


Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party took a big lead over its closest rival, the BJP, as counting began for the Delhi election today. As AAP leading in over 49 seats while the BJP made gains in 15-plus seats.

Exit polls have predicted another term for Arvind Kejriwal, who came to power in 2015 with a massive mandate – forgiven after his apology for the 49-day government of 2014.

The campaign has been bitter and polarised, the political discourse bogged down by hate speeches. A last-minute controversy arose after the voting, over the Election Commission’s delay in announcing the final polling figures.

The Chief Minister has given Delhi what he called a “10-point guarantee card”, which includes free power, 24-hour drinking water on tap, a clean Yamuna and a world-class education to every child. In its manifesto, AAP has also promised round-the-clock markets in the model of Mumbai and expanding the metro network into the “world’s largest”.

The BJP confident that its seven-out-of-seven-score in last year’s Lok Sabha polls in Delhi augurs better fortune. In the run-up to the polls, the party pushed in its 270 MPs, 70 union ministers and state leaders to seek votes. Union minister Amit Shah contributed to the final push with a door-to-door campaign.

Election Held in the shadow of the protests over the contentious Citizenship Amendment Act, the National Population Register and the National Register of Citizens, the two-month campaign has been divisive, with the rhetoric on a downward spiral. “Goli maaro” slogans were raised at the meetings of several BJP leaders and the Chief Minister was publicly called a “terrorist” by a union minister.

-BJP’s Kapil Mishra leading from Model Town by a margin of 98 votes.

-AAP’s Manish Sisodia leading from Patparganj by a margin of 112 votes.

-Official EC trends: Aam Aadmi Party leading on 32 seats and Bharatiya Janata Party leading on 16 seats.

-Official EC trends: Aam Aadmi Party leading on 27 seats and Bharatiya Janata Party leading on 16 seats.

Related posts

PM dedicates 5 DRDO Young Scientists Laboratories to the Nation


Cong split over Kashmir


Finance Ministry responds to Moody’s change in outlook


Leave a Comment

five × five =