l Latest news on Politics, World, Bollywood, Sports, Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Trending news | News Mantra

Madhya Pradesh BJP MLAs move to luxury hotel

Madhya Pradesh BJP MLAs move to luxary hotel ITC in Gururgram to keep safe them from poaching as party is preparing for show of strength after cong leader Jyotiraditya Sindhiya left congress .

Earlier Former Union Minister and four-time parliamentarian Jyotiraditya Scindia resigned from the Congress on Tuesday morning, shortly after meeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah in Delhi.

He is expected to join the BJP sometime this week, days after criticising the party over violence in Delhi, and is likely to be rewarded with a Rajya Sabha seat and subsequently a berth in the union cabinet. Shortly after his exit, 21 Congress MLAs sent letters of resignation, sources within Madhya Pradesh Raj Bhavan said.

Earlier sources said 25 MLAs were ready to resign. Should these resignations be accepted, the 15-month-old Kamal Nath government will be reduced to a minority and likely be toppled. However, Mr Nath is confident his government will complete the five-year term. “There is nothing to worry about. We will prove our majority,” he said late on Tuesday night.

Scindia posted a resignation letter on his Twitter account dated 9 March, stating to Congress chief Sonia Gandhi that it was “time to move on” as the path for the same has been “drawing out over the last one year”. Scindia, three time Lok Sabha MP, played a key role in Madhya Pradesh elections in 2018 which the party won.

Scindia’s resignation happened in the backdrop of a section of party MLAs from Madhya Pradesh revolting against Nath. By late Tuesday evening, atleast 22 of them had tendered their resignation to Governor Lalji Tandon as well as to the assembly speaker.

Out of the total 230 assembly seats, two are currently vacant. In the event of the resignation of 22 rebel MLAs getting accepted, the actual voting strength (in case of a trust vote) will effectively come down to 206. The list of those who have resigned includes six ministers — Tulsi Silawat, Govind Singh Rajput, Prabhuram Choudhry, Imarti Devi, Pradyumna Singh Tomar and Mahendra Singh Sisodia.

BJP alone has 107 MLAs in the legislative assembly while the Congress’ original tally is 114. Congress draws support from draws support from four independents, two Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MLAs, and one MLA from the Samajwadi Party (SP).

Related posts

Pilot: Children continue to die in state


Kashmiri Leaders Will Be Released


EC defers Rajya Sabha polls


Leave a Comment

fifteen − 2 =