l Latest news on Politics, World, Bollywood, Sports, Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Trending news | News Mantra

6th phase votes 64 percent ,Delhi turn out low

over 63 per cent turnout was recorded in 59 seats across six states and the national capital in 6th phase of polling .Barring some violence and incident in West Bengal polling by and large was peacfull.

Elections were held in 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 seats in Haryana, eight constituencies each in Bihar, Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, four in Jharkhand and seven seats in Delhi where votes were cast by a number of public figures, including President Ram Nath Kovind, Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj.

With Sunday’s polling, votes have already been cast in nearly 89 per cent of the 543 constituencies, while the last phase of voting will take place on May 19 for the remaining 59 seats.

The Election Commission (EC) said 63.48 per cent turnout was recorded across the states and Delhi, with West Bengal recording over 80 per cent polling and Delhi registering just 60 per cent. In 2014, it was 63.37 per cent, it said.

A total of 59 parliamentary constituencies witnessed moderate to high voting in Phase 6 polling in the Lok Sabha Election 2019 .

Voting started at 7 am in seven states across the country. Some constituencies in Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal were also included in to polling for Phase 6.

All Lok Sabha constituencies in Haryana and NCT of Delhi voted on sunday.Counting of votes will take place on 23 May.

State-wise list of constituencies of Phase 6 :

States Constituencies
Bihar (8 seats) Valmiki Nagar, Paschim Champaran, Purvi Champaran, Sheohar, Vaishali, Gopalganj, Siwan, Maharajganj
NCT of Delhi (7 seats) Chandni Chowk, North East Delhi, East Delhi, New Delhi, North West Delhi, West Delhi, South Delhi.
Haryana (10 seats) Ambala, Kurukshetra, Sirsa, Hisar, Karnal, Sonipat, Rohtak, Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, Gurgaon, Faridabad
Jharkhand (4 seats) Giridih, Dhanbad, Jamshedpur, Singhbhum
Madhya Pradesh (8 seats) Morena, Bhind, Gwalior, Guna, Sagar, Vidisha, Bhopal, Rajgarh
Uttar Pradesh (14 seats) Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Phulpur, Allahabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Shrawasti, Domariyaganj, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Lalganj, Azamgarh, Jaunpur, Machhlishahr, Bhadohi
West Bengal (8 seats) Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur

Related posts

Pm upset on vijayavargiya




SC Refers Article 370 Cases to 5-Judge Constitution Bench