By Elections In Delhi And Goa

Polling being held today for by-elections to two Assembly seats in Goa and one each in Delhi and Andhra Pradesh

Polling is being held today for by-elections to two Assembly seats in Goa and one each in Delhi and Andhra Pradesh.In Goa, Panaji and Valpoi are the constituencies going to polls. Chief Minister and BJP candidate Manohar Parrikar is contesting for the Panaji seat. The polls have been necessitated following the resignation of BJP MLA Siddharth Kuncolienkar from Panaji and Congress MLA Vishwajeet Rane from Valpoi.

In the national capital, by-poll is being held for the Bawana Assembly constituency. The seat fell vacated after Aam Aadmi Party MLA Ved Prakash resigned to join the BJP. The Delhi Metro began its services earlier than usual in view of the poll.In Andhra Pradesh, polling is taking place for the Nandyal Assembly seat. The seat had fallen vacant due to the death of a sitting Telugu Desam Party MLA. The counting of votes will be held on the 28th of this month.

Narendra Modi To Cm Of States

PM Modi to meet CMs of BJP ruled states in New Delhi this evening

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP Chief Amit Shah will meet Chief Ministers and Deputy Chief Ministers of all BJP ruled states in New Delhi today to take stock of development and social welfare work being done. 

Sources said, besides Chief Ministers and Deputy Chief Ministers, a few Cabinet Ministers are also likely to attend the meeting. The discussions in the meeting are expected to revolve around implementation of the Centre's flagship schemes in the states and development works being done there. 

Vijay Rupani

Former Gujarat CM Shankersinh Vaghela resigns from Legislative Assembly

Former Gujarat Chief Minister and former leader of Congress legislative party Shankersinh Vaghela has resigned from the Legislative Assembly. Vaghela submitted his resignation to the Speaker Ramanlal Vora last evening.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel were present on the occasion. Vaghela had announced his resignation from Congress party last month. Talking to media persons after his resignation, Vaghela clarified that he is neither going to retire from the politics, nor going to join any political party.

VP Venkeiah Naidu

President Ramnath Kovind administers oath to M. Venkaiah Naidu as vice-president

Today the country has got the 13th Vice-President. The newly elected Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu took oath today. After this, Naidu will take over as the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha and as Vice President will give his first speech.

Let us know that NDA candidate M. Venkaiah Naidu had won a grand victory in the Vice Presidential election in the elections held on August 5. He defeated the Opposition candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi. Venkaiah Naidu got 516 votes while Gopal Krishna Gandhi got 244 votes.