New Cabinet Ministers

Several newly assigned ministers to assume charge on September 4

Several newly assigned ministers in yesterday's cabinet expansion of Union Council of Ministers will assumed charge in New Delhi today. Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Rajyavardhan Rathore who was given portfolio of Youth Affairs and Sports Ministry will assume of as MoS (Independent charge). 

Newly appointed Alphons Kannanthanam will take charge of Tourism Ministry and Sudharshan Bhagat as Ministr of State for Tribal Affairs. Minister of Skill Development Dharmendra Pradhan and Minister of State for Skill Development Anant Kumar Hegde will assume their charge. Petroleum Minister Pradhan has been given additional charge of Skill Development. Minority Affairs Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi will also assume charge at New Delhi. Naqvi has been elevated to the Cabinet rank.

By Elections In Delhi And Goa

Polling being held today for by-elections to two Assembly seats in Goa and one each in Delhi and Andhra Pradesh

Polling is being held today for by-elections to two Assembly seats in Goa and one each in Delhi and Andhra Pradesh.In Goa, Panaji and Valpoi are the constituencies going to polls. Chief Minister and BJP candidate Manohar Parrikar is contesting for the Panaji seat. The polls have been necessitated following the resignation of BJP MLA Siddharth Kuncolienkar from Panaji and Congress MLA Vishwajeet Rane from Valpoi.

In the national capital, by-poll is being held for the Bawana Assembly constituency. The seat fell vacated after Aam Aadmi Party MLA Ved Prakash resigned to join the BJP. The Delhi Metro began its services earlier than usual in view of the poll.In Andhra Pradesh, polling is taking place for the Nandyal Assembly seat. The seat had fallen vacant due to the death of a sitting Telugu Desam Party MLA. The counting of votes will be held on the 28th of this month.

Narendra Modi To Cm Of States

PM Modi to meet CMs of BJP ruled states in New Delhi this evening

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP Chief Amit Shah will meet Chief Ministers and Deputy Chief Ministers of all BJP ruled states in New Delhi today to take stock of development and social welfare work being done. 

Sources said, besides Chief Ministers and Deputy Chief Ministers, a few Cabinet Ministers are also likely to attend the meeting. The discussions in the meeting are expected to revolve around implementation of the Centre's flagship schemes in the states and development works being done there. 

Vijay Rupani

Former Gujarat CM Shankersinh Vaghela resigns from Legislative Assembly

Former Gujarat Chief Minister and former leader of Congress legislative party Shankersinh Vaghela has resigned from the Legislative Assembly. Vaghela submitted his resignation to the Speaker Ramanlal Vora last evening.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel were present on the occasion. Vaghela had announced his resignation from Congress party last month. Talking to media persons after his resignation, Vaghela clarified that he is neither going to retire from the politics, nor going to join any political party.